Information on:

The Center for Western Studies

2121 South Summit Avenue
605-274-4007

Mission:

The mission of the Center for Western Studies at Augustana College is preserving and interpreting the history and cultures of the Northern Plains.

Vision

Augustana College aspires to become one of America’s premier church-related colleges.


About Us:

Founded by author and Augustana College English Professor Herbert Krause, the Center serves as a repository for over 500 substantive collections and maintains a library in excess of 36,000 volumes on the American West. In addition, the Center holds an extensive art and artifact collection and sponsors annual events such as the Boe Forum, the June Event, the Dakota Conference and the Artists of the Plains Art Show and Sale. With more than 70 publications to its credit, the Center is a major academic publisher in South Dakota.



The Center for Western Studies is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at The Center for Western Studies

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Oct 23, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

An Artist Reception - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Oct 23, 2019 from 5:30pm to 7:30pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Oct 24, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Oct 25, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Oct 28, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Oct 29, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Oct 30, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Oct 31, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Nov 1, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Saturday, Nov 2, 2019 from 10:00am to 2:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Nov 4, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Nov 5, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Nov 6, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Nov 7, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Nov 8, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Nov 11, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Nov 13, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Nov 14, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Nov 15, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Nov 18, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Nov 21, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Nov 22, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Nov 25, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Nov 28, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Nov 29, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Dec 2, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Dec 3, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Dec 4, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Dec 5, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Dec 6, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Saturday, Dec 7, 2019 from 10:00am to 2:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Dec 9, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Dec 11, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Dec 12, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Dec 13, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Dec 16, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Dec 19, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Dec 20, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Dec 23, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Dec 24, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Dec 25, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Dec 27, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Dec 30, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Dec 31, 2019 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Jan 1, 2020 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Jan 2, 2020 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Jan 3, 2020 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Saturday, Jan 4, 2020 from 10:00am to 2:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Monday, Jan 6, 2020 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Tuesday, Jan 7, 2020 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Wednesday, Jan 8, 2020 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Thursday, Jan 9, 2020 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Exhibition - Sioux Falls in Color - Artwork By Rodger Ellingson

Friday, Jan 10, 2020 from 8:00am to 5:00pm
The Center For Western Studies
Sioux Falls, SD
Read More »

Photos